Cubs slugger Anthony Rizzo wins second Gold Glove

Cubs slugger Anthony Rizzo wins second Gold Glove

Cubs slugger Anthony Rizzo wins second Gold Glove

It was the fourth tie in the history of the award.

Ahmed had some stiff competition for the award as three-time victor Brandon Crawford and San Diego's Freddy Galvis were also in the mix. The other two Cubs first basemen to win Gold Gloves: Mark Grace (four times) and Derrek Lee (twice).

Both Mookie Betts and Jackie Bradley Jr. earned the award for their work in the outfield, with Ian Kinsler getting the nod at second base. While he was not named the best left fielder in the American League, Benintendi was real close and has a great chance to win in the coming years. He also is a top contender for the AL MVP award. DJ LeMahieu of the Rockies won the Gold Glove at second base, and Nick Markakis of the Braves was the victor in right field.

"Now in our 61st year of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award, this year's honorees are well deserved and truly define defensive excellence", said Mike Thompson, chief marketing officer for Rawlings Sporting Goods. Markakis won for the first time in the NL and third time overall, ending Jason Heyward's run of four in a row. A little more than eight months later, he is the National League's Gold Glove left fielder.

More news: Man Who Killed 2 At Florida Yoga Studio Was Misogynist Extremist

First baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman were recognized for the Athletics, and second baseman D.J. LeMahieu and third baseman Nolan Arenado won for the Rockies.

He produced an.877 OPS during the first half of the season but just a.701 in the second half.

The Gold Glove Awards will be unveiled at 4 p.m. Sunday in an hour-long presentation on ESPN.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]