Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Bryson DeChambeau picked for US Ryder Cup team

Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Bryson DeChambeau picked for US Ryder Cup team

Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Bryson DeChambeau picked for US Ryder Cup team

Furyk will make his fourth captain's choice selection at the conclusion of the BMW Championship, which is being held this week at Arnonimink Golf Club in Newtown Square.

Australia's Cameron Smith was third at 13-under, while 14-time major victor Tiger Woods carded an even round to finish tied for 24th at 7-under.

Mickelson hasn't missed a Ryder Cup squad since the early 1990s having played in a record 11 consecutive tournaments.

United States of America captain Jim Furyk will name three of his four wildcard picks on Tuesday, and after DeChambeau's recent successes, it is unthinkable he will not be included among them.

Elsewhere Tuesday, it was a disappointing day for Abraham Ancer, who had started the final round with a one-shot lead as he aimed to become the first Mexican player in 40 years to win a US PGA Tour title.

2018 Form: Cabrera-Bello has picked up six top-ten finishes whilst splitting his time between the PGA and European Tours, and he gave Bjorn a timely reminder of his abilities when tying for 7th in what was a loaded field at the Dell Technologies Championship last time out.

Greater suspense is likely next Monday when Furyk makes one final pick to complete his 12-man team.

More news: Roxanne Pallett breaks down in tears as she quits Celebrity Big Brother

The U.S. will defend the Cup at the September 28-30 event against Europe at Le National in Paris.

Love captained the U.S. team to victory in 2016, and Stricker was the winning U.S. Presidents Cup team captain previous year.

The eight Americans who qualified on their own were Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson and Patrick Reed. We have some incredible players, great leadership and a really special opportunity to do something that we haven't done in a long time.

"It's been a fantastic two weeks", he said.

Mickelson said ending that long USA wait for a victory in Europe was his prime motivation. "I'm very impressed with how he's doing it". He declined to speak with media after his round, but is still a prime candidate to earn a captain's pick for the Ryder Cup. The U.S. last won away from home in 1993.

Furyk announced he'll replace Woods as vice captain, naming David Duval, Zach Johnson and Matt Kuchar to join previously announced vice captains Davis Love III and Steve Stricker.

The European team had eight qualifiers - Justin Rose, Tyrrell Hatton, Rory McIlroy, Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm, Alexander Noren, Francesco Molinari and Thorbjorn Olesen - decided on Sunday following the Made in Denmark tournament on the European Tour.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]