Norwegian politicians nominate Donald Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

Norwegian politicians nominate Donald Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

Norwegian politicians nominate Donald Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

Two Norwegian lawmakers have nominated President Donald Trump for the Nobel Peace Prize after the Singapore summit with North Korean leader Kim Jong-un.

In the message of the broadcaster noted that the candidacy of Donald trump was nominated for the peace prize in 2016, 2017 and 2018. They added that their nomination for Trump to receive the Nobel Peace Prize would send a clear signal to the US and world to finish what was started.

Mr Trump's nomination places him alongside other prominent nominees in the past, including Russian President Vladimir Putin, and former Cuban leader Fidel Castro.

The nomination came from two members of Norway's Progress Party, which is the third largest political party in the country and is generally considered very right wing with libertarian leanings.

The nomination is past the deadline for the next Prize, so his name is submitted for the 2019 awards.

Trump and North Korean leader Kim Jong Un signed an agreement on Tuesday pledging to denuclearize the Korean Peninsula, though it's unclear what the timeline is for denuclearization and how the USA will enforce it.

More news: Antoine Griezmann Finally Makes Decision On His Future

For two consecutive years, in 2016 and 2017, the candidacy of trump offered the same United States citizen.

"Both President Roosevelt and President Trump show that government leaders who are not afraid to show that they are willing to use power can be tools for peace".

In 2015, Geir Lundestad, who served as the secretary of the Nobel Committee for 25 years beginning in 1990, regretted the decision to give the prize to Mr Obama.

During the phone talks, Moon said Trump had achieved a great success in the summit, laying the foundation for peace not only on the Korean Peninsula but in the entire world.

Nominations for this year's prize also formally closed on February 1, before the summit was agreed. Several point out that the four-point communiqué issued at the end of the meeting contained only provisions North Korea had already agreed to in summits dating back to the 1990s.

Nobel prize winners are USA presidents Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]